Brothers (Special Edition)

Black Keys

Black Keys / Brothers (Special Edition)
Format: 2 CD
Released: Tue 19 Oct 2010
Catalogue Number: IMT1744138.2

This product is no longer available.
Price:  AUD$62.55
* Prices displayed are in Australian Dollars and, where applicable, GST inclusive

6th album 'Brothers' has been The Black Key's most successful release yet & to celebrate their nearly sold out tour V2 are releasing a 'Special Edition' with bonus disc.

Recorded at Alabama's legendary Muscle Shoals Sound with additional sessions at Auerbach's Easy Eye Sound System in Akron and the Bunker in Brooklyn, the album sees production duties handled by The Black Keys, along with shared duties between the band, Mark Neill, and their old friend Danger Mouse, who lends his skilled hands to a new track. Tchad Blake brings his sonic excellence into the fold to handle mixing duties Muscle Shoals has produced iconic recordings from The Rolling Stones, Aretha Franklin, and Wilson Pickett, among many others

Carney admits Brothers is the album they've always wanted to make and taps into their creative force as a duo. "Dan and I grew up a lot as individuals and musicians prior to making this album. Our relationship was tested in many ways but at the end of the day, we're brothers, and I think these songs reflect that." The ghosts of Muscle Shoals inhabit Brothers' 15 tracks. Of the album, Auerbach says, "We like spooky sounds like Alice Coltrane, where a dark groove is laid down. That's the headspace we tried to get into for this record." The album includes the Danger Mouse-produced song "Tighten Up" and a cover of the Jerry Butler classic "Never Gonna Give You Up."


  • Discs: 2
  • Weight (g): 118

Track Listing:

Disk 1
1.  Everlasting Light
2.  Next Girl
3.  Tighten Up
4.  Howlin' For You
5.  She's Long Gone
6.  Black Mud
7.  The Only One
8.  Too Afraid To Love
9.  Ten Cent Pistol
10.  Sinister Kid
11.  The Go Getter
12.  I'm Not The One
13.  Unknown Brother
14.  Never Gonna Give You Up
15.  These Days
Disk 2
1.  (Recorded live at Dan Auerbach’s studio Akron Analogue): Everlasting Light
2.  Howlin' for You
3.  Long Gone
4.  Next Girl
5.  Tighten Up
6.  Too Afraid To Love You

This product is no longer available.

More music4me > Alternative > Indie
More Black Keys